My Sandman watch …

In honor of Halloween, I'm wearing my spooky, plastic Sandman watch. It doesn't keep time anymore, but somehow…that seems appropriate.

I'm on a Neil Gaiman kick at the moment. I'm listening to him read “Fragile Things,” one of his short works collections. It's interesting. Sometimes, he's dead on the mark. Sometimes, he's doesn't rise above being a rambling anecdotalist with a lovely voice and a reputation for being the nicest guy ever lived.

I've noticed one thing. He writes as if he were sitting across from you in a cafe, telling you about people he knows or even about himself. It occurs to me that this may be why people find his work so easily digestible.

Still, he freaks me out when he does an American accent.

~ by angelmccoy on October 31, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
